New question for teachers: What are some of the biggest challenges you face in your teaching practice?  Do you have any ideas of how to help others dealing with the same issues?
FADHILAH
12/6/2012 06:10:42 pm

THE BIGGEST CHALLENGES FOR ME IN TEACHING IS THE PUPIL.MOST OF THE PUPIL AT RURAL AREA ALWAYS NOT COMPLETED THEIR HOMEWORK.I FEEL VERY DISAPPOINTED ABOUT THAT.....

Reply
g mail
12/6/2012 06:22:46 pm

I suggest that we need to use another type of exercise books that really has hard cover .And not need to use to many of it.Just one thick notebook ,and let the teacher keep it in the new cupboard (use the school money ) behind the class.If their parent ask for it,just note down the pupils name and give the book for their parent to check it .

Reply
sk sri lanang
13/6/2012 05:54:06 pm

For the last class what i do, i just ask them to write simple or short sentences so they can finish it in class with our help. At home we just ask them to read or memorize all the words they had already learnt.

Adam Freeman
18/6/2012 10:56:17 pm

If you are interested to implement this in your classroom, approach me and we can meet the Guru Besar together to see how we can make this happen. I'd be happy to support you in implementing a system that will improve your classroom practice.

tolkappiyam
13/6/2012 06:04:47 pm

well, dont worry cause i've taught in outskirts of borneo and its actually easy to attract them. probably youre facing demotivated children over here. maybe u can ask ur better student to do pair work with the other children or simply talk to the parents and show that you really care about the children. sometimes the parents cant see our true intention. or use treats to motivate them for work completed. happy trying and all the best :)

Reply
Adam Freeman
18/6/2012 11:00:34 pm

Thank you for providing positive feedback and potential solutions to these problems. Solution-oriented thinking is the answer, rather than focusing on the problems and complaining without taking action.

zie
13/6/2012 06:08:29 pm

homework is always a burden for them. I gave them more pictures to paste and write simple sentences rather than make them write a lot.

Reply
Adam Freeman
18/6/2012 10:58:05 pm

I politely disagree. Part of the reason you see limited results is because the children have limited follow-through outside of the classroom. Writing practice could be a follow-up to the work you've done in class, as mentioned in TPD sessions.

delah
19/6/2012 04:42:12 pm

i agree with you.sometimes i gave them some present who will finish their home.but it not to long.the same things will happen again.

azadei
19/6/2012 04:52:38 pm

As for me, I asked my students to finish their work and pass up the book to me. If they don't finished their work, I still asked them to pass up the book. Tomorrow i will give them back to continued finished their work. That will make them finished the work by time. Others than that, the work will burden them. That's how I do in my class.

mentor camille/kamilah/shanti om
19/6/2012 10:24:09 pm

I feel the students need to be challenged more...build up their vocabulary, reading skills and sentence structure. Less coloring, cutting and gluing...we are grooming our future leaders..homework is essential but not always necessary..have them do it in class or give them incentives...for example performance chart

Reply
Joane
20/6/2012 02:56:41 pm

I think the parents are in a way to blame for this occurrence... Maybe give the pupils homework that has to be signed by the parents when done? At least then, at the end of the year, the parents can't complain about their children's progress (if they themselves didn't help in any way!)...

Reply
sen
20/6/2012 11:57:33 pm

So many challenges:
-influence of mother tongue in English,
-homework problem,
-pupils don't understand the meaning of words n lazy to use dictionary
-pupils just don't read English materials on their own etc
BUT
for me I think its the time factor.I don't have enough time to spend with my students(Year 3- 1 hour n 30 minutes in a week!)I always have to rush during my activities n I don't think that my pupils are getting enough exposure for each activities or topic done in the classroom.More time , more English , more Exposure with the language.

Reply
di
12/6/2012 06:12:32 pm

One of the biggest challenge in my teaching is to control the classrooms which have a lot of problems in dicipline.Can anybody give their opinions in this case.Do we need to use the '' rotan''.

Reply
teacher sk sri lanang
13/6/2012 05:53:32 pm

i dont think using 'cane' is the best way to control the students..in my class, i gave sticker or star for those who behave well..and they really enjoy it..

Reply
Adam Freeman
18/6/2012 11:09:04 pm

Like! You get a sticker!

zie
13/6/2012 06:01:10 pm

I have the same problems with di especially with the last class with lots of discipline problems and their attitudes.

Reply
sel
13/6/2012 06:09:30 pm

a suggestion di. I am able to control my class students just by controlling my voice - stern voice , angry and speak loudly and also eye movement. you need to be patient until u can bring them to your way.
other than that you could probably use gestures to keep them quite or start doing another activity - for example clap 3 times. my kids enjoy it. u need to practise this before u bring them to your way.

Reply
Adam Freeman
18/6/2012 11:08:12 pm

Thank you, thank you, thank you! I am so pleased that this information did not come from me. In the modern era, the 'rotan' is not an option. Honestly, I was shocked to see it still in use. In Japan, resorting to such violence would be an extreme lose of 'face'.

What sel is suggesting is absolutely an effective way to control the class. Body language, disapproving gestures, modeling appropriate behaviour, rewarding pupils who are exhibiting proper behaviour....these are all options that are much more humane than simply reaching for the 'rotan'.

I would be thrilled to work with you more regarding classroom control. Many of the suggested strategies from TPD sessions are also effective. Please contact me or another teacher to discuss your options. The 'rotan' is barbaric and does NOT belong in a modern classroom. Teaching through fear will never be an effective means of swaying the children to your side.

cikgu
20/6/2012 05:47:16 pm

Thats interesting.

de Lah
19/6/2012 04:51:17 pm

Rotan are not suitable for our student right now.My suggesstion is pick a few pupils (1 or 2) that make trouble in your class .what u have to do is , let the pupils follow u around the class with one foot.do it about 10minutes.the pupils will be tired and sit during your lesson.

Reply
izan ib
19/6/2012 05:16:15 pm

To control the classroom discipline, you have to be patient, enthusiastic with your children, and a bit of your creativity. As for me, I always announce loudly the name of the particular ''Denise the menace'' in class. I also let the other children to repeat after me. As killing two birds with one stone, first, the misbehave pupil will notice, second, the other children will get the speaking skill activity as well.

Reply
fen
20/6/2012 05:56:08 pm

don't use rotan Di . Nowdays we'll ended in the police station!

Reply
AIR BARUK
20/6/2012 05:59:42 pm

I don't think so "cane "is the good ways to solve problem.I don't like to "cane" students.I like to use stamps in my class.I don't want my student to get fear when I am teaching in the class.

Reply
Anum
12/6/2012 06:14:30 pm

The biggest challenge is the students do not want to open their mouth, even to answer the teacher's questions. They also do not communicate to their friends in second language. They still use their mother's tongue language. To solve it, the teacher keeps asking the questions to make the students talk in second language.

Reply
sk sri lanang
13/6/2012 06:02:38 pm

For Year 1 or Year 2 students we can just give them small token when they answer the questions correctly...my year 2 students always glad to answers all the questions orally and loudly.

Reply
Adam Freeman
18/6/2012 11:12:23 pm

sri lanang teacher, can you explain more to Hanum about the techniques and strategies you used in order to make this happen in your classroom? How did you make it suitable for your pupils? Perhaps consideration of the cultural context may help her understand further?

hanum
19/6/2012 05:05:38 pm

Hi, Sk Sri Lanang, can you tell me the strategies and techniques that you used in your classroom? The token that you used it, does it used in questions and answering sessions only?

IzanIB
12/6/2012 06:17:52 pm

Some of them refuse to answer the questions given. They afraid that they might pronounce the words wrongly. To overcome this matter I always praised them whenever the words mentioned slightly the same sounds.

Reply
Live a life
12/6/2012 06:18:11 pm

The biggest challenge in my teaching is to make my pupils understand me and my lesson....They seem so lost whenever i speak the language in class and for that reason i have to translate or do more gestures.....help me

Reply
Hery
13/6/2012 05:49:47 pm

same goes to me...with the gestures and the translations, I think it did not help them much... try my best to make them interested but seems I am the one whose had the feel...

Reply
teacher
13/6/2012 05:58:15 pm

like wise..i'm really dissapointed with my students..is't because i don't know how to teach??or they really doesn't like English??

Reply
teacher:sl
13/6/2012 06:11:15 pm

Yes, to capture the pupils' interest is the bigget challenge,

Adam Freeman
18/6/2012 11:23:12 pm

The polite answer to this question is...Yes! You do know how to teach. However, the style you are used to is a style that was discontinued long ago. Rote learning is dead, as we have discussed ad nauseum in the TPD sessions.

What will help you is a change in thinking. What is meaningful to the pupils? How can they take what you are doing in class and apply it to their lives? What are you doing to keep them engaged and focused on actively using English during every moment of every class?

These are questions that teachers are struggling to answer, because they are still unsure about how to go about using the techniques discussed in TPD sessions.

You cannot be disappointed in your students. You are the model they follow. Plan lessons, share with other teachers about your successes or failures. Work with your Mentor. All of the solutions you require are within your grasp. Be encouraged.

Live a life
19/6/2012 05:12:51 pm

Hey ...cheer up..Its not u dont know how to teach...may be they have
problem in this language...

mentor camille/kamilah/shanti om
19/6/2012 10:43:32 pm

Their are many forms of teachers...some teaching comes natural and others you have to be creative. Don't think of you not knowing how to teach but how to become a better teacher..You have to think like a student...what would interest them, whats the best way for them to learn...give them games, songs, fun activities...its all about drilling, repeating and making it fun to learn...challenge them always!!!

along
12/6/2012 06:18:28 pm

The pupils are not giving a good respond in leaning the language because of their back ground and they like to use their mother tongue as their language.

Reply
teacher sk sri lanang
13/6/2012 06:01:33 pm

i think so..to master English, the students should practice not even in the school but also at their home..so that it can wider their vocabulary and built their confident..

Reply
Adam Freeman
18/6/2012 11:29:46 pm

Is there any way to build effective relationships between teacher and parents that help facilitate the children's development? You understand the Malaysian context? Can you think of any solutions to this problem? Can anyone?

umbai
12/6/2012 06:23:34 pm

The biggest challenges are. 1. To make pupils speak in English, at least a few sentences a day (they only speak English during English classes, at least a few sentences).

Reply
Teacher Tay
19/6/2012 05:03:38 pm

I usually ask students to write down some sentences regarding the daily conversation in schools. They will practice at home. The next day they will communicate with their friends or teachers in simple English.

Reply
AINI
12/6/2012 06:23:58 pm

the biggest challenges for me in teaching practice is getting pupils' attention after playing games or moving activities..i just practice 123..eyes on me..but sometimes it is not really work...

Reply
teacher sl
13/6/2012 05:58:01 pm

Just make them clap their hands after the games and let them play again. You also can tell the rules before each games.

Reply
Adam Freeman
18/6/2012 11:35:06 pm

Seems like this teacher has been actively taking ideas from TPD sessions and classroom visits and applying them effectively.

My opinion is that one should switch into 'teacher voice' and make clear that you are IN CONTROL of the classroom. Embrace your authority and make it work for you. You ARE the adult in the classroom.

Make sure the routine is consistent and does not change. Then the children know what to expect every time.

teacher sk sri lanang
13/6/2012 05:49:10 pm

my biggest challenge is my students doesn't want to talk in English mostly during doing the activities..even when i gave questions with the gestures, they just look at me and never make the action..what should i do??i really want them to speak in English and master it..

Reply
Adam Freeman
19/6/2012 12:04:41 am

Praising those that make the effort helps. Giving small rewards (i.e. stickers, responsibilities, attention in class), especially to those that are slower learners, can create an atmosphere where the children know what is expected of them.

Have you considered using story, song or circle time activities to take the stress off of the students and focus them so that they are not thinking about how little they understand, and instead, thinking about how much they DO understand?

Classroom chanting activities and role play would also be useful. But it is important that you teach them the language they need to DO the activities in English. I've been suggesting this since Day 1.

Reply
de Lah
19/6/2012 05:08:53 pm

in my class year one pupils now like my lesson very much.all of them cannot wait for me.when I'm not around they will asking and looking for me.I always encourge them to speak during my class.I certainly find out the pupils who are very quiet and shy to come in front to follow the sentences or topics that we that day....in small game for example i let them be a group leader.it's works but take a time to make them comfortable....

ju
13/6/2012 05:56:22 pm

The biggest challenges for me is pupils could not understand the instruction..so i use simple language and encourage them to answer my question.Second is when playing the activities

Reply
priyal
13/6/2012 05:59:14 pm

THE BIGGEST CHALLENGES FOR ME IN TEACHING IS
-making pupils understand meaning of words by themselves rather than spoon feed the meaning all the time.
- They dont make the effort to utilise what they learn in the classroom in their daily activities or in the exam.
- students don't practise English or use English at all other than class hour which is only 1 h 30 min therefore they could not be competent in the language.

Reply
tolkappiyam
13/6/2012 06:15:47 pm

same problem here..huhu..i hate repeating to them to open up the dictionary and finding the meaning of words. fed up of them treating me like the walking dictionary and spoon feeding them. :P
wish i had more time to spend with my year 1 kids to teach them better just like how the sk children are experiencing since they practise english only during lessons - 2hrs n 30 mins each week.
haaaaa

Reply
Adam Freeman
19/6/2012 12:09:27 am

2.30 hours per week does not mean better marks, believe me.

My position is this...children must be given responsibility for their own learning. How about putting the English words on the board and then having them translate the words into their mother tongue? That way, both languages are in front of them as they do the activity. I believe I've suggested this before.

They don't make the effort to do it, because they are not being required, in a meaningful way, to do so. The student-centred activities we have discussed help require this.

Concerning the short class time...each class should be PACKED with meaningful language that is the focus of the lessons of the week....each lesson builds upon the next, and each week builds to what you desire to see from the children by the end of the month. Scaffolding.

frusrated
20/6/2012 05:41:36 pm

I agree with you. Im also having the same problem.Im teaching them meaningful activities( as adam mentioned) but even that didnt help my class. they enjoy the activity but the next day they 4get n I have 2 start all over again. At home they are not even touching the book or revise.

Reply
sk air baruk 1
20/6/2012 06:00:02 pm

Yes correct, they love to play games. Everytime when I came to the class they wanted to play games but....... when we ask questions nobody answered.

sean
13/6/2012 06:02:01 pm

Challenge list:
1) ask pupils to speak in english.
2) construct sentence in correct ways.
3) require for 100 % in spelling.
4) being english as pupils' favourite subject.

Reply
Adam Freeman
19/6/2012 12:16:51 am

I believe #4 indicates a very positive focus, Sean. More games and fun. Less stress...especially for you. Each class should have an element of surprise for the pupils. Chanting helps with spelling. Take the BINGO song and have them chant spelling words. Example: P-I-N-K, Pink! P-I-N-K, Pink! P-I-N-K, Pink! And pink is the colour!

Reply
Teacher Tay
19/6/2012 05:15:05 pm

In order to obtain 100% in spelling, students need to learn the sound of the words through phonics practice, after that they need to write it down the words they spell so that they can remember. "Practice Makes Perfect".

Reply
teacher: sl
13/6/2012 06:06:20 pm

My problem is to make the pupils talk in English during the activity.

Reply
hobbes
13/6/2012 06:12:09 pm

join the club . it's every teacher's problem.

Reply
zie
13/6/2012 06:12:46 pm

give them a short dialogues and let them practice at home. the next day pupils will act it out in class.

Reply
Adam Freeman
19/6/2012 12:13:26 am

Excellent solution!!! Any other ideas that you are utilising?

sk tedong
19/6/2012 05:09:55 pm

teach them the simple song to make the learning fun and happening.

Reply
Laoshi
13/6/2012 06:08:10 pm

Challenges? I admit, I'm living in denial. I don't want to admit that i face problems in managing my classroom. I think the biggest challenge I've faced so far is making the students engage in the lesson. I found that the reason why they were not engage is because they do not understand simple English instruction. To make things worst, i have to double translate each words, first in Malay then in Chinese. What I did most of the time is to use body language. Not just saying the instruction, I have to show some actions. I even draw things on the board. Repetition is a must so that the students will remember what they have to do when teacher say something. It takes time and the students are still getting used to my method..

Reply
Adam Freeman
19/6/2012 12:25:31 am

The first step of defeating denial is admitting it. Well done.

Remember, the repetition can be done in several different ways. For example, if you want to teach a simple role play, you could tell a story (with a picture book) where the characters go through the same role play you want them to duplicate. Then you transition to a song that has the same language (change the words to an easy tune), and they sing the role play language. Then have them chant the role play language by having two teams split on each side of the room. They then do the role play, but as a fun chant. Finally, have volunteers come up to the front and enact it. That's 4 different ways of doing the same thing. If kids never know what they're gonna get, they remain engaged. If they ALWAYS know what they're gonna get, they check out.

Give it a shot. Take the time. At least you're no longer living in denial.

Reply
Sk Asahan
13/6/2012 06:08:14 pm

The biggest challenges for me is when playing the activities in groups pupils could not understand the instruction so I have to translate in mother's tongue and uses the gesture.I encourage them to use simple request to make them speak in English.

Reply
teacher....
13/6/2012 06:08:36 pm

I had problem with class control ealier. But after introduce 'FREEZE and RELEASE' method, i successfully can control them. And not forgotten Ad's idea where hang the Do's and Dont's also useful.

Reply
nice mom
13/6/2012 06:09:12 pm

I think most of us facing the same problems. The thing that we can do is dont give up and always have confidence and show the pupils your appreciation through out the lesson. Give tokens if the pupils participate in your lesson. I think the pupils love the idea very much which my mentor and I had done it today where we gaive some snack to the pupils that volenteering do the action song in front of the class. We encourage them to use the proper language and deliver the song the best that they could.

Reply
su
13/6/2012 06:11:07 pm

The biggest challlenges for me when im teaching in my class is, some of my pupils could not understand when im speak in eglish. So, i have to translate it into 'malay' and after that they will respond to my instruction. I use simple language n guide them to understand about what im gonna tell them about.

Reply
RAMLAH iSMAIL
13/6/2012 06:12:31 pm

Teaching English is a challenging task and responsibility.The easiest solution whenever you are facing failures and dissapointments with your students and activities,do not give up,try and try again.Just try to like them more than before.It will make your heart grow fonder towards your pupils and your job.In the end everything will come easy and eventually you will fall in love with your job.Do not hate them.

Reply
Adam Freeman
19/6/2012 12:32:02 am

Ramlah has it. Regardless of the struggles you face (paperwork, clueless pupils, peer pressure from other teachers, personal issues), these children are facing you every day, waiting to learn something from you. I remember my last job. Every day I hated going to work, but I loved my students. Even when I didn't want to do anything at all, I still put together entertaining and creative lessons for them, because THEY HAD NOT WRONGED ME, and I had a responsibility to them, as an educator, and as their teacher, to give them my best. They wept like babies when I left. And so did I.

So, look for the love in this job. Rasa sayang. These children deserve your best effort, no matter how helpless or inadequate you may sometimes feel. No matter the discipline problems. Remember, for some of these children, you may be the only example of integrity, courage, joy and education that they may ever see. It is truly a joy to be a teacher. Continue to embrace it.

Reply
de Lah
19/6/2012 06:11:01 pm

Hai Ramlah,tq for your motivated.For your information I'm not an optionist teacher.But I luv teaching in english especially year 1 pupils.Its make me feel younger.

Reply
sk air baruk
13/6/2012 06:12:53 pm

with 36 to 40 pupils in class its not only hard for the teacher to control the class but its also will make the pupils lost their attention for the lesson. so my solution just reduce the numbers of them. for teachers, how to control your class, just do something that make them look at you, put up your hand and count to 5 and say stop . remember teachers for once you do it keep on until they
used of it.

Reply
Masitah Bt Nordin ( Sk.Bkt.Tembakau,Merlimau)
19/6/2012 04:56:52 pm

I 'm always try to use the proper way in communicate with my lovely 1 Arif.!!! With some patient and possion ,I' ve managed to get positive respond from my pupils during playing some games such as 4 corners or circle game.

Reply
Lady Koci
19/6/2012 05:02:36 pm

Tpd session really helps me a lot.With some tips or ossums ideas from both harworking men Troy and Adam,I get many solutions in selecting the good materials for writing or create some simple sentences.

Reply
skbt
19/6/2012 05:06:53 pm

my biggest problem in teaching english is teaching grammar. i really need help or ideas about that.

Reply
lady koci
19/6/2012 05:07:29 pm

give some stickers or some awards are better than using a cane.I do agree with de lah.

Reply
snow white 2012
19/6/2012 05:11:43 pm

sometimes we use code swicthing during communication with our pupils.

Reply
snow white 2012
19/6/2012 05:15:19 pm

i do had the same problems with sk.sri lanang.Still no respond to my questions or pupils just look and listen to me.Really teacher centered.

Reply
Adam Freeman
19/6/2012 05:18:16 pm

One teacher has created a blog showing evidence of what she does for her Year 1 KSSR evidence. It is located at http://ywsd041908.blogspot.com/

Check it out!

Reply
mentor camille/shanti om/kamilah
19/6/2012 10:33:13 pm

I feel the students need to be challenged more..build up their vocabulary, reading skills and sentence structure..less coloring, gluing, and cutting...homework is important but not necessary..have them do it in school or give them incentives..example performance charts

Reply
mentor camille/kamilah/shanti om
19/6/2012 10:47:25 pm

I HAVE A QUESTION?
Do you feel learning English is necessary or important for your students and you? If so, Why?

Reply
sk air baruk
20/6/2012 05:20:30 pm

As for me n my students it is necessary to learn English as a knowledge and really important for the future.

Reply
sk air baruk 1
20/6/2012 05:31:55 pm

It's really enjoying learning other languages and we feel great .Moreover it will be easier to communicate wherever we go.

Reply
sk air baruk 2
20/6/2012 05:33:30 pm

i think learning english is important for my students and me because we need a world view of knowledge. if we say it is necessary its means that we learn english only for something such as to pass in the exam. so make it important and i'm sure you be proud of it.

Reply
sen
20/6/2012 11:17:15 pm

It is necessary and important for everybody to learn English regardless of their background. During their primary n secondary education, most students fail 2 c the importance n necessity of English but they would regret when they go to tertiary education n when they are looking for a job.

Reply
hobbes
21/6/2012 12:12:01 am

NECESSARY!!!!!!!!! iMPORTANT!!!!!!!!!Come on people. What's the big fuss of learning another language? Just learn another languagelah.Tats all.n each children are taught for 11 years n still they cannot master the language!!!!!!!!!GOSH! I wonder how WE ENGLISH TEACHERS manage to learn the language easily. learning another language gives us more advantage than disadvantage.Tell your students.

Reply
Adam Freeman
21/6/2012 02:02:31 pm

Please remember that your students are not thinking long-term about the benefits of English language learning. They are simply trying to learn what they are required to study in school (or not). I think it is possible that many of the teachers take their level of English for granted, and fail to consider the difficulties students have with second language acquisition.

Unfortunately, it is not as simple as just listening to a language and learning it. Children require active participation to aid retention. Remember back when I spoke in Spanish in TPD and gave no assistance to help you understand what I was saying? Pupils are facing this in classes, then being tested on something they don't fully understand.

You are right. Learning another language does indeed give us more advantage than disadvantage. I am fortunate, in that, because of my languages, I can travel the world easily. I can manage in English, Spanish and Japanese contexts. I remember my sense of pride and accomplishment when I made my first hotel reservation in Japanese. :-)

Simply telling the students will not produce an outcome. Creating meaningful activities for them that require them to learn the language for a SPECIFIC PURPOSE aids tremendously.

For example: take the language of money and shopping. If students created their own 'shops' in class, and you had a 'shopping' activity, students could independently go to the different 'shops' and engage in the language required to ask about a product, determine change, buy what they want, and even recommend the shop to a friend! Such 'real world' activities are engaging and require many different grammatical structures. Plus, the children are not thinking about the learning...they are learning to complete the task!

So when it comes to student mastery, giving them a stake in their own learning facilitates faster outcomes than 'chalk and talk'. By far. Give this 'shopping' activity a try and see the response from the children!

izan ib
26/6/2012 05:56:32 pm

Learning English is important to both teachers and students. English is used through out the countries. How can we communicate with other people in different countries if not using English. That is why I am pleased to converse in English with Mr. Adam, Mr.Troy and Camille. It helps me in speaking skills.

Reply
skbt
26/6/2012 06:03:20 pm

I do agree, learning English is important to me and my pupils too. As English is one of the important language nowadays, teachers need to prepare the pupils to master this language in order to let the pupils stay parallel with other foreign pupils that are more advanced in English.

Reply
sk tedong
26/6/2012 06:09:50 pm

Yes, every student should learn English as well.English is an international language and of course ,peoples only can communicate among themselves using English all over the world.No matter what they are,they should be happy to learn English.So,for solution I'll try to use the resources that have been given by TPD Mentors for my lovely students during my English class.Hope it will be a great time for us!

Reply
jjoj
20/6/2012 05:01:09 pm

I feel learning english is very important for my student, because it is Iternational language and they can comunicate to everyone and gain information.

Reply
:-(
20/6/2012 05:39:04 pm

Boooooring...!!! I tought I'm going to face new challenge today in TPD but all end up on typing comments in the blog. mmm.......I took 2 hours and 30 minutes to comment this...!! OMG.... :-(

Reply
frusrated
20/6/2012 05:45:52 pm

i can't believe tis. 2 n half hour writing blog! Pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeelah do some activity that benefit us.

Reply
cikgu boring
20/6/2012 11:40:00 pm

can we have interesting activities like we had in TPD last year? I enjoyed last year TPD. This year it is a bit dull.

bubble
26/6/2012 05:50:16 pm

i agreed with frustrated....good pointt

Hi
20/6/2012 11:47:48 pm

This blog is important for us to communicate each other. But I think we should write the blog with our own time at home. During TPD, lets mentors share their knowledge with us and we can bring back that idea to our classroom. ideas in the blog can be read anytime.

Reply
Adam Freeman
21/6/2012 01:38:44 pm

I thank you for this excellent point of view. I share your sentiment. However, prior to last night, not one comment on the blog was received at any time outside of the time allotted in TPD sessions. So, most teachers are not engaging with the blog outside of TPD sessions. When an independent stream of dialogue occurs on the blog outside of TPD sessions, I will no longer be required to allot time for such reflective practice during TPD. It is my hope that teachers will begin to independently take the resources, read the updates, contribute to the blog and apply what they are learning in the classrooms. Until then, I believe this exercise will maintain in TPD. Believe me, I would love to see teachers posting to the blog outside of TPD; however, to date, it has just not happened.

sunny
26/6/2012 05:57:26 pm

I think i have to agreed with you. I hope they're sharing more of their knowledge with us during the TPD session. However the blog also give us some benefits. It is more fun if we have more interesting activities such as games, new materials, during the TPD.

Adam Freeman
21/6/2012 01:36:20 pm

First, let me apologise for not adequately inspiring those of you complaining here to engage in this student-centred, independent, interactive method of reflection. As you know, student-centred learning requires a departure from too much teacher talk, or 'spoon feeding' of any kind. In an effort to avoid 'spoon feeding', my hope was that teachers would actively and independently direct their own learning during this TPD session. And, while I understand your position, I would argue that you are neglecting the positive results which came through this independent focus.

During the course of the session, I witnessed several positive interactions:

1. One particular group of teachers (cheers to SK Asahan teachers for focusing both independently and collectively!!!!) discovered the Song Compendium in the resources section, and I worked with them to increase their abilities to use these in class.

2. One teacher followed the instructions requested by this Mentor and updated the blog with practical applications for classroom control that she discovered on her own. She provided a link to such information, indicating self-directed research and evaluation of its merit. I applaud this teacher's efforts and focus.

3. One teacher (who has no access to internet in her home) discovered Circle Time activities and discussed how to apply these to the classroom, both with me and another teacher who has implemented such strategies.

4. Another pair of teachers worked together throughout the session, actively discussing and commenting on issues that arose on the blog. Reflective practice, for sure.

Thus, to those teachers that actively engaged with the platform, they were able to leave with something new. Plus, the 'assignment' I mentioned, to find an activity/resource from the Resources page and modify it for your classroom so as to make it 'suitable', then report how you completed that and what results you obtained, is an excellent way for teachers to independently discover and adapt a resource for their classroom. I am excited to see the results of this activity soon.

Reply
Aza
26/6/2012 06:25:25 pm

Hiiii, I'm also in same situation with you. So boringgggg. But when I read the blog in TPD's class, I get more infos and ideas. I use it in my class. Thanks very one. It gives my class relax and not tension. I don't have an internet at home. As for me, it's a good time for me to get ideas from you all.

Reply
Adam Freeman
3/7/2012 03:30:43 pm

Thank you Aza. The purpose of this blog is to create a forum where teachers can gain info/ideas from each other and discuss solutions to problems faced between themselves. I'm glad you are finding it useful.

Laoshi
20/6/2012 05:46:11 pm

Have anyone tried using the 'Behaviour Chart' to manage our students' behaviour in class? I have very active year 2 students and i found that it is very hard to make them sit down and listen to what i said or teach. I decided to use the behaviour chart as it is suitable for younger students. Before using the behaviour chart, we should discuss with the students on the classroom rules. They will have to list down what the should or should not do in class. This is the blog that i refer and adapt the behaviour chart from. http://www.proteacher.net/discussions/blog.php?b=186
In the blog, it is mentioned that the student will have to write a behaviour journal. Since the kids are too young to write a journal, I change it into writing their bad behaviour on a piece of post-it and paste it on the bad behaviour section. Kids with the most post-it in the bad behaviour section will get the consequences. For those who behave well will get stars and those with the most stars will get a sticker. Please refer to the link above for further reference.

Reply
Hanum
26/6/2012 05:55:03 pm

Thanks to Laoshi for your co-operation. I also have a same problem with my class. I will use your ideas. Thanks again.

Reply
Ain SKBS
20/6/2012 05:57:51 pm

Just want to share some of your experience on how to teach year 1 students to read a simple sentences. Sometimes i create my own sentences using words that had been taught and repeated. But only 2 or 3 students can read. Even though they know how to spell but when we combined 4 or words together they kind of confused. I also like to know ur teaching strategy in writing skills for year 1 students.

Reply
Adam Freeman
21/6/2012 01:49:59 pm

One of the responsibilities of the Mentor is to help teachers prepare for after the Penutur Jati programme ends. I take this very seriously, and, in order to achieve this, believe that I should endeavour to encourage and facilitate independent teachers who are able to source, manage, locate and share resources and methodologies.

My focus is to create independent teachers who will be able to take this information and apply it LONG after I am gone.

Some of you have responded that you were bored during the TPD session yesterday. I welcome this feedback and will seek to adapt TPDs so they may be of continued benefit to you.

Please feel free to write your thoughts and concerns here, knowing that we are focused on strengthening and empowering you in your teaching practice.

Reply
Teacher Tay
26/6/2012 05:56:59 pm

I want to teach Year 2 making sentences. Do you have any good idea?

Reply
skab1
28/6/2012 05:36:27 pm

Hi teacher Tay,try to implement this method to your class,hopes it will help u
1. help them with word cards
2. ask them to rearrange the words to make sentences with guidance from teacher
3. Drill them with other sentences
4.lastly ask them to write in their exercise book without looking at the word cards.

Reply
de Lah
26/6/2012 06:03:51 pm

TPD for me , give a lot of idea in teaching english for year one.I know some of the teacher do not agree what our goverment goal.but i take all the good ideas n activities during TPD.I leave what a negative thinking to the teacher that had so many complain.My ambition is to enjoyed teaching and thinking positive to my pupil.

Reply
masitah nordin(skbt,merlimau)
26/6/2012 06:27:14 pm

I found that the most interesting resources is typingweb.It's really help me a lot..I can understand more in typing and try to type in a correct way....thank you TPD!!!!

Reply
noname
26/6/2012 06:29:34 pm

I agreed. I found that it was very interesting.

Reply
Adam Freeman
3/7/2012 03:35:46 pm

The truth is, if you are able to type properly at a reasonable speed, materials development (and use of the computer) becomes extremely easy. As a Mentor, it is my job to observe areas where teachers can benefit and provide resources and motivation to them to take charge of their own learning/improvement.

Typing is only one area where the resources provided on this blog will greatly benefit teachers. Further, this is a skill that teachers will be able to take an implement over the life of their professional career. Set a goal for how fast you want to properly type by September 2013, and practice diligently between now and then. You will not be disappointed with the results.

Reply
Laoshi
28/6/2012 04:28:47 pm

Prior to a resent chatting with Mr Adam, i've decided to try a game that we played over the phone. It is a very simple game of simply finishing each other's sentences in order to make a story together. What I did was have a brainstorming activity where I give categories of words for example part of a body, so the kids give words such as eyes, arms etc. I came out with other categories such as action words, weapon, buildings etc. these words will help the pupils in writing their story. Next, I get the pupils in pairs. I started with 'once upon a time, there was..' (writing it on the board) and let the pupils take turns to complete the sentences to build up a story. I did not make a comment on their grammatical mistakes. At the end, I asked the pupils to correct the mistakes made by their friends.

What I found from this activity is that when the pupils are given freedom to express their own ideas, they will come out with all sorts of creativity. Most important is that they were not afraid to try even though they were not fluent in English. Here they learn grammar items such as past tense and subject verb agreement. They also learn to write creatively. At the same time they have fun writing a story as well as challenging each other in completing a story. This is my first time feeling happy with my pupils' response towards a writing activity. I was surprised actually. Even the ones speaking in Chinese tried to give ideas while her partner helped her in translating them without my assistance! Bravo to them.. Well guys, why don't we give this activity a try..

Reply
Adam Freeman
3/7/2012 03:40:05 pm

This is exactly the kind of student-centred activity that will engage pupils and allow the teacher to simply observe strengths/weakness of the class and facilitate children taking their learning into their own hands. Well done. Now, consider how the activity can be simplified/modified for Level 1 pupils, then report back!

Reply
camille/shanti om/kamilah
25/9/2012 05:29:19 pm

My comment is to Delah on 6/27/12 and other teachers...TPD has many benefits to those that attend. This is the time you can build with other coworkers, teachers, and mentors to help develop your teaching skills. It allows you to problem solve issues you might face in class, creative development on your lesson planning, better resources to help you build a resource bank...and the list can go on and on.. When the year is over you should be more comfortable and confident about your teaching skills and your pupils. You should be growing and advancing at various levels You as a teacher and Them as your students. Give yourself and your students goals to accomplish, make a resource book for you and other to use in years to come...We are here to enrich your teaching ability, not make it difficult for you.... so TAKE ADVANTAGE of what you have been blessed with!!!

Reply
Ain & Suhaila
10/10/2012 06:22:40 pm

i'm happy with my mentor..thank you camille for time we had together :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.