A space where teachers can share the impact/effects of the resources/activities used in their classrooms.  Let's hear those positive accounts!  Today's question: What is the most useful activity you've gained from TPD sessions?
Derek Francis
21/4/2012 01:46:27 pm

This looks great! I'll share the resources with my teachers in Alor Gajah. Thanks guys-Derek Francis

Reply
Adam Freeman
22/4/2012 01:32:06 pm

Thank you for your support! We welcome any input or resource sharing with your cluster!

Reply
Julie
13/9/2012 04:38:09 pm

I'm a teacher from Melaka Tengah District. Met Adam last week when we were conducting the KSSR Tahun 3. You guys are lucky to have such a committed mentor with many ideas on how to run English lessons. Nice knowing you and good luck.

Mentor Camille/Kamilah/Shanti Om
20/6/2012 12:08:39 am

I feel this is a good resource that can be shared with students, teachers, and other mentors. I encourage them to use it in their computer classes as well. The challenge has been accepted! Now what are you going to do??

Reply
Nor Azizah Bt Hj Mustafa ( SK Datuk Haji Baginda)
1/5/2012 04:52:53 pm

The activity is Charade. Its so useful for me because it helps my students to memorize the tenses using gestures. I did it in my year 2 class and they were having a lot of fun and they are looking forward on this activity.

Reply
Adam Freeman
1/5/2012 07:09:56 pm

That is an extremely useful activity! You've chosen well! I am so pleased you have had positive results.

Reply
Suher (SK Felda Bukit Senggeh)
2/5/2012 05:06:14 pm

Yes, absolutely Kak Zie, even my Year 5 pupils love the game and it brings back their fun and exciting time in the classroom.

Reply
Adam Freeman
2/5/2012 06:43:11 pm

How wonderful to see you are applying things you've learned from Penutur Jati across all of your classes, regardless of level, and even to pupils not affected by the KSSR curriculum change. You've got the idea, Suher. Incorporating student-centred learning into all of your classes helps build pupil engagement, and it also impacts your ability to apply the ideas across a wider range of learners. Well done.

teacher from Baginda
1/5/2012 04:53:24 pm

I always do 'Circle Game' and survey in my class. And encourage my students to speak in English.

Reply
Adam Freeman
1/5/2012 07:13:14 pm

That's the spirit! And I'm sure that Circle Game is one of many game activities you've taken from your participation in the Penutur Jati programme. Could you discuss another activity you find useful?

Reply
sentha
20/6/2012 05:09:33 pm

Yes, me 2. we can modify circle game according to the topics. Children do enjoy this activity.

Hanum from SK Datuk Haji Baginda, Umbai
1/5/2012 04:55:46 pm

I like phonetic activity where I use the starfall website in let's reading section. It's fun where my pupils can pronounce the letters easily. They enjoy this lesson. At the end, my pupils can pronounce the easy words with the correct pronounciations.

Reply
Adam Freeman
1/5/2012 07:17:29 pm

Starfall.com is an amazing resource. I remember showing this website to you in a TPD. I'm glad to hear that you are making efforts with your students in being more exposed to ICT. Starfall has American pronunciation, but is an extremely useful site, nonetheless.

Reply
Qurratu Aini from SKDHB
1/5/2012 04:57:49 pm

The most useful activity that I used in my class is racing game for phonetic lesson. I found that my pupils enjoy themselves during the lesson.

Reply
Adam Freeman
1/5/2012 07:31:18 pm

Well done! How do you run the racing game? Do you do them in groups, pairs or whole class? What phonics have you used this racing game to teach so far?

Reply
AZLIYANI AZHAR
1/5/2012 04:58:58 pm

One of the most useful activity I've gained from this TPD session is make use of games in teaching and learning. The game that I've always carried out in my class is 4 CORNERS GAME. This game requires pupils to move to one of the four corners in order to answer questions that will be asked by me. This game is very interesting because the pupils can be able to move around and at the same, they learn in a meaningful way.

Reply
Adam Freeman
1/5/2012 07:33:30 pm

I'm glad that you recognise the importance of meaningful learning. What other things are you doing in your class to make learning meaningful??

Reply
maliza (sk sri lanang)
2/5/2012 05:18:28 pm

i'm thinking of using this game with my students.. is it suitable to be use with my year 1 students? can you share with me?

Reply
Adam Freeman
2/5/2012 06:52:40 pm

Absolutely! 4 Corners is easy to run. Perhaps Azliyani can give some pointers about how she used it in class...

AZLIYANI AZHAR
22/5/2012 06:20:48 pm

of course, it is also suitable to be used to your yr 1 students. just starts with the simple activity, for example spelling words, guessing pictures etc. usually, i'll numbered or named the four corners. then, i'll start counting as students move to any corner. when i stop counting, any corner will be chosen to answer my question. you can ask them individually or in group..it's up to you..
i hope u can try this game and do reply me about the feedback!

fadzilah(SK TEDONG)
22/5/2012 06:18:29 pm

Awesome! I'll try for my pupils.Hope they'll enjoy my lesson.

Reply
maliza from sksl
23/5/2012 05:47:12 pm

thanks for your sharing..i'll do it with my students..i hope they'll enjoy with my lesson

teacher from sk kesang tua
23/5/2012 05:45:17 pm

I m interested in 4 corners game and planning to do it in my year 2 class.Thank you for the idea

Reply
TAY KHANG JHEE FROM SJK(C) KUANG HWA
1/5/2012 05:00:17 pm

I had learned that many differents types of games that can be use in teaching and learning activity. Students feel more funs and enjoy the learning process. Students get more involve in the learning process and feel more responsibility.

Reply
Adam Freeman
1/5/2012 07:35:35 pm

Yes, Mr. Tay, but what is the most useful activity you have learned (and used) from TPD sessions?

Reply
TAY KHANG JHEE FROM SJK(C) KUANG HWA
22/5/2012 06:13:28 pm

I have learned how to make a flash (word) cards with attractive pictures download from the internet. Then, I laminated the word card so that it is more lasting.

FADZILAH BT HASAN SK TEDONG
1/5/2012 05:09:10 pm

Overall,the TPD sessions give me more benefits as an English teacher.I can get lots of ideas and create interesting activities in my class.For example,games activities.Well,children like to do games acivities during my lesson.I hope all the mentors can create and give more games activities.

Reply
Adam Freeman
1/5/2012 07:40:40 pm

Absolutely! We'd be pleased to do so. I'm still curious about a specific activity you learned from TPD that you use in your classroom. I'm curious about how you run it, and what outcomes in learning you've seen. :-)

Reply
Suher Sulaiman (SK Felda Bukit Senggeh)
2/5/2012 05:03:17 pm

I would love to use the starfall website each time I enter my classroom because there is a lot to learn and explore and the pupils love it very much.

Reply
Aumi Rabihah Muslimin
2/5/2012 05:18:29 pm

Agree with you Suher. I've used the Tongue Twister and it's fun. The kids love it. I even gave the website address to the students so that they can explore the website at home..

Reply
Adam Freeman
2/5/2012 06:54:17 pm

Facilitating independent learning is the name of the game! Well done, Aumi.

fadzilah (sk tedong)
22/5/2012 06:12:51 pm

Absolutely!.Starfall website can attract pupils to learn English in many ways.Every teachers should try.

Reply
Adam Freeman
22/5/2012 06:25:41 pm

So, how often do you use ICT in the classoom? And what problems do you encounter when you use it? How do you solve those?

GOH(SK AIR BARUK)
23/5/2012 05:50:50 pm

Yes,is great .!!

Aumi Rabihah Muslimin SJKC Chiao Chee, Selandar
2/5/2012 05:09:49 pm

I've used Charade in my year 5 class and Amazing Erasers in my year 6, year 5, year 3 and year 2 class. I found that my students enjoy themselves participating in the game. These games do not require us to prepare a lot of materials. Have fun trying out the games guys!

Reply
Teacher :-)
2/5/2012 05:11:02 pm

ESLKIDS and STARFALL are the greater website which help teachers to do teaching materials. Pictures and reading materials are easy to access. The JEOPARDY game done by Troy was fun to learn and indirectly boost the children to improve their vocabulary.

Reply
Masitah (SK Sri Lanang)
2/5/2012 05:22:39 pm

Thanks for the information......

Reply
Adam Freeman
2/5/2012 06:51:23 pm

Another teacher above, Hanum from Hjh Baginda, has mentioned her use of starfall.com. Perhaps you two could compare different ways you have used that website and what positive outcomes you have seen!

Reply
maliza from sksl
23/5/2012 05:53:21 pm

i've done the JEOPARDY with my yr 1 students..i can see that they really enjoy with the game and they can understand the topic learnt easily..

Reply
Deepa
2/5/2012 05:12:32 pm

i found the games are fun..

Reply
JOTHI A/P KRISHNAN
2/5/2012 05:13:16 pm

I use nursery rhymes, singing,playing game,words search

Reply
MALIZA (SK SRI LANANG)
2/5/2012 05:13:32 pm

My year 1 students enjoy to play Circle Game and Racing Game. I found that from those activities, it can rich their vocabulary and their confident in talking with their friends. Usually, those actvities are carried out in group whereas students help each other to get the answers.

Reply
Juliawati mohamad( SK Asahan)
2/5/2012 05:16:39 pm

One of the useful activity that I used in my classroom is basketball.The pupils are really enjoyed it.They like to respond because they want to throw the ball and get their point.I always start my lesson with singing.The song that I got from TPD programme is really helpful.

Reply
Masitah (SK Sri Lanang)
2/5/2012 05:17:42 pm

My students enjoy to learn English because they learn it in a fun way especially in guessing the words in an alphabets and numbers game. It make them thinks fast and better in spelling.

Reply
Adam Freeman
11/6/2012 05:38:06 pm

Are there any other games you are using for improving spelling?

Reply
ROZAIMAH ABD RAHMAN (SK SRI LANANG)
2/5/2012 05:17:50 pm

I'm teaching year 1. The pupils like to play games. By playing games, they are having fun while learning. They like the racing games that I learnt in the TPD. I listed a few words that they learnt on that day on the blackboard. Each group will compete to erase the word that I mentioned. The first group to erase the word is the winner and they will collect points. This activity is to develop reading skills.

Reply
Adam Freeman
11/6/2012 05:39:37 pm

Amazing Erasers is a fabulous game! I'm glad to see you are using it in your classroom. Have you tried using similar games with Level 2 pupils?

Reply
izan ib
26/6/2012 06:11:51 pm

Yeah, I did too. They loved it.

Reply
Mariah (SK Asahan)
2/5/2012 05:18:07 pm

I got a lot of games to play with my students even with my 10 yr old kids. They really enjoy those games, especially the basketball game. Small kids like to try many times eventhough they always fail. Encourage them with small gives. They really enjoy your lessons.

Reply
SKN
2/5/2012 05:20:48 pm

I've gained a lot of activities from the TPD sessions, such as games, songs and rhymes. I always carry out the circle game with my pupils. They enjoyed it so much. I didn't do it in groups because I have only 23 pupils,

Reply
Azman from Felda
2/5/2012 05:21:19 pm

I'm enjoy to use action songs during learning and teaching process. Also for my students. They will give good response when I use and implement this activity in the class especially peak hours.
Examples :
( Sing a song and do the actions based on this rhymes)

See My Mother (2x),
Drinking milk, (2x)
Sitting On the mat, (2x)
With a mug, (2x)

Tune : Are you sleeping.

Actually the activity we developed and shared at TPD very meaningful not only for us but the most important our students out there.

Reply
Thollkappiyam Jasin
2/5/2012 05:25:28 pm

I love the games. ngeee :D. I've tried using circle games, the basketball game as well as the aeroplane flying game as a form of fun ending to the reading activities. The kids enjoyed it a lot. Although in the beginning they had no idea of what we were doing. I've tried to include the games in my lesson from the list that Troy and Camille provided but, they were not that suitable-time constraint :P. Wish had more time like SK schools to educate the children. The websites that were provided such as starfall for phonics are good but there are many others which i have used since college which will be glad to share with others-later :) sharing is caring. Would be interesting to learn some other new games such as Jeopardy by Troy which we played today. It was fun and im kind of thinking how to incorporate it into my year 1 class for the previous topics that we have learnt. Hopefully will suceed.yeay..

Reply
Adam Freeman
11/6/2012 05:41:11 pm

Have you had an opportunity to incorporate the Jeopardy game into your classes yet?

Reply
izan ib
26/6/2012 06:10:23 pm

A few days ago, I managed to browse this blog with my year two students. I taught them a few steps to join the blog. They succeeded to enter the Resources (Language Games of course). They enjoyed it very much.

Hartati Haris SK Masjid Baru
2/5/2012 05:25:43 pm

I'm teaching Year 1 and 2 pupils in my school. I realise that pupils are interesting in learning English through songs ang games. They are more relax and trying their best to take part in the activity that I prepared for them. For example by using the song I changed the lyrics according to the topic I want to teach. This way they can identify, pronounce and spell the words easier and in the free willing way.

Reply
Ramlah Ismail of SK.Felda Bukit Senggeh
2/5/2012 05:25:56 pm

I joined this programme this year and I"ve gained alot of new knowledge and teaching techniques that can be applied and used during my lessons.A few activities I had done with my pupils and they loved them very much.Pupils were sittting in front of me and gave them a category(animals:pets/wild animals/farm animals),by throwing a ball randomly and whoever catches it will give a word of that category.Whoever got it correct will be rewarded with a lollipop/sweets.They were excited to catch the ball as frequent as they can.Action songs of Old McDonald/Old Pak Mamat is a hit wih my pupils.

Reply
bdellium
6/5/2012 08:25:43 pm

Hi, I’m not an English teacher but heard about this blog from a pal.BTW, was wondering, Is it true that the teachers (you you out there) were forced to comment about the activities even though you had no intention to do so??? If true---->OMG!

Reply
Teacher......:-)
7/5/2012 11:11:03 am

Ye ye.... just to confirm our presece on the website.

Reply
Adam Freeman
11/6/2012 05:44:43 pm

The purpose of the Blog portion of this website is to facilitate reflection among the teachers. We take time during our Teacher Professional Development sessions to encourage teachers to share successes and ideas gathered from reflection concerning their teaching practice. Teachers are not required to participate, and some have exercised that option.

Reply
Hery
20/6/2012 04:58:27 pm

where did you got the idea? it is not like we are force too, it is by all means came from our rustic brains which need to be polished all the time and leave the negative or positive impacts if we wish too.. no dark force here.. and credits to our jedi.. they deserve it for the hard working..

Reply
Adam Freeman
21/6/2012 12:29:51 pm

Thank you, Hery. I wish all the teachers viewed it in the way you do.

Malaysian Teacher
27/7/2012 10:45:40 am

be in the shoes and you'll know..judging from afar is simply easy..and 'hard work' ? wow... really?? wonder why we can't see it although we tried our level best to be accomodating..hurm...

Masitah Bt Nordin
22/5/2012 06:09:43 pm

I feel so happy using the good materials done by my tpd's teachers

Reply
Adam Freeman
11/6/2012 05:46:07 pm

Thank you Masitah! It is very satisfying for us to learn of how you have taken those materials and implemented them in your classroom.

Reply
SHAMSUDIN(SK PULAI)
22/5/2012 06:19:08 pm

In my opinion,some of the games and activities that had been told are really useful .A lot of new technique,for example how we use the song from the websites to teach song easily.Let the pupils sing together without many mistakes.I also agree with the games from the web mentioned by them.All the adresses maybe Mr.Adam and his friends able to list down to us.tq

Reply
Adam Freeman
22/5/2012 06:27:46 pm

Sham, please check the resources page on this blog. There are many resources you can find there. They are direct links to the site.

Reply
SHAMSUDIN(SK PULAI)
22/5/2012 06:29:12 pm

ok.

MASITAH BT NORDIN
22/5/2012 06:20:42 pm

When I'm teaching the phonics,the starfall.com really help me a lot.The activities given are very attractive and fun to do.My pupils do feel very enjoyable.As a teacher, I realized that English is simple to teach if we have the amazing ideas and materials.

Reply
Adam Freeman
22/5/2012 06:29:29 pm

So, are you making a materials library in your school? Some teachers are working together with other teachers in their school to create a library of materials for use with students. Many times the materials are laminated. Please consider proper materials development for the games/activities you use.

Reply
Fariza Akmar SK Tedong
22/5/2012 06:25:51 pm

Hello, Penutur Jati friends...in my oppinions we're lucky to be one of the member cause for me I gain a lot of knowledge from our mentors. My pupils love the "Circle Time" game and every time I enter the class my pupils will ask me, "Teacher can we play circle time game if we finished our work?" Wow, they're excited to play the game. That makes my job easier to attract their attention.

Reply
Adam Freeman
22/5/2012 06:31:26 pm

Please remember that the Circle Time game can actively be used as part of the class. It need not be only at the end if children have finished their work. Circle time is instructional. You can find more Circle time games on the resources page in this website.

Reply
Masitah Bt Nordin( Sk.Bkt.Tembakau,Merlimau)
22/5/2012 06:29:00 pm

I've no more fear in teaching year 1 and two.The games such as circle game,Bingo and so on really make my pupils enjoy during the p & p session.There's also reduce my stress in teaching vocabulary.Perhaps I'm also playing the games with them!!!!

Reply
sksl
23/5/2012 05:48:06 pm

same here, i really enjoy teaching young kids because this past 20 years i only teaching level 2. new game new activities....

Reply
Fariza Akmar SK Tedong
22/5/2012 06:35:45 pm

Tomorrow the PPD Officers will come to my school, I think they will be observing me teaching the Year 1 pupils. Friends and mentors please wish me luck.

Reply
fadzilah(SK TEDONG)
22/5/2012 06:37:48 pm

Firstly,tq so much for all the TPD mentors.Actually,you had given us lots of interesting activities that we can use in our class.My pupils like to compete among them so,I choose racing games for them.They enjoy my lesson.

Reply
MASITAH BT NORDIN ( SK.BKT.TEMBAKAU)
22/5/2012 06:39:14 pm

I do agree with Mdm Fariza Akmar..We really enjoy using the games that help us a lot.My pupils really can't wait the English period

Reply
fazilah sk air baruk
23/5/2012 05:48:31 pm

Hi! I want to share to everybody.anglomaniacy.com. there's alot of printable activities. Do try!

Reply
sksl
23/5/2012 05:49:56 pm

enjoy today activities, OMG i'm singing...love this website
www.lyricstraining.com

Reply
teacher
23/5/2012 06:15:17 pm

tq mr troy. interesting...

Reply
izan ib
26/6/2012 06:23:09 pm

Actually, singing is good activity. Back in my old days of schools, I like to practice English through singing. I taped my voice, then I listened again. I noticed the mistakes that I've made. It improved a lot. Now I apply it with my students. It works.....

Reply
fazilah sk air baruk
23/5/2012 05:51:37 pm

Having fun in TPD today. everybody become a singer. TQ TROY!

Reply
teacher
23/5/2012 05:57:36 pm

thumbs up to Troy...:)

Reply
Aumi Rabihah
23/5/2012 05:55:06 pm

For most of us, trying new things or new approach in class may be frustrating sometimes. What works for certain kids will not work for others. In my opinion, adaptation is the most important thing before trying out all the activities suggested to us in the TPD session. Get to know our kids. Find out what types of learner they are. All the activities planned should cater their learning styles. So teachers, do some adaptations so that we will experience success..

Reply
Teacher
23/5/2012 06:08:43 pm

Maybe you can give an example of the adaption activity

Reply
Aumi Rabihah
23/5/2012 06:21:19 pm

What i mean by adaptation is by changing the level of difficuty, so it will suit the students' proficiency level, their learning styles etc. Mr. Troy always talk about adaptation. For example, the activity we did today. We can carry out the same 'Running Dictation' activity but consider having a simple sentence, maybe using phrases or even having a punctuation marks as the task. So there it is. Hope i've answered your question :)

teacher
23/5/2012 06:04:06 pm

i love to attend tpd..cause i've learnt lots of meaningful games..but sometimes i don't know how to use it with my yr 1 students because some of them still can't read..what should i do??can someone give me idea??

Reply
Laoshi
23/5/2012 08:10:51 pm

Why don't you teach phonics so that they are familiar with the sound. Teaching phonics to the students who can't read is better than teaching the ones who are able to read. It can be frustrating for the kids who already able to read to segment the words etc. Teach them through song like mr Adam always did. Next time ask mr Adam to bring his guitar to your class and ask him to demonstrate an activity that incorporate singing.

Reply
Adam Freeman
21/6/2012 12:34:06 pm

I would be pleased as punch to do so!

teacher:sksl
23/5/2012 06:05:29 pm

I found that the 'Running Dictation' games which we learnt just now is fun and good. We can use the simple words or sentences especially for level one students. I will use it after this and see how it goes.

Reply
GOH (SK AIR BARUK )
23/5/2012 06:06:50 pm

If u want to teach phonics .U can go to youtube to search for Jolly Phonics ,I use this in my classroom .My studens love it...

Reply
Anbu (Jasin Tamil School)
23/5/2012 06:11:04 pm

Hi....guess what? I run the Jeopardy Game which introduces by Troy few weeks ago in my Year 5. Superb...!! My kids really engage and enjoyed. I modified the game to my kids level and to their previous knowledge. I chosed 4 topics and devide the class into 5 groups. Representative from each group will stand to ans my question. Who ans 1st they got 1 point. mmm......they were keep on askin to continue even after the lesson over....

Reply
Adam Freeman
11/6/2012 05:49:25 pm

This is excellent news! By implementing games in your Level 2 classes, you are practically applying student-centred learning techniques even BEFORE the Ministry requires you to! I am pleased to hear that these strategies are effective in your classroom.

Reply
teacher from sk kesang tua
23/5/2012 06:11:30 pm

I just want to share what i had done in my year 1 class yesterday.Teaching new sound 'e' and 'u'.
First - show the picture pen,bell,sun and cup
Second - time for a game "throw and sound the letter"
Third - divide them into group A,B,C.D,E and F (about 5 pupils in a group)
Fourth - first person from each group come in front to throw a ball to the chart and sound the letters of word that they throw.
Fifth - two marks for correct answer and the rest of the class have to clap to show their support. zero mark for wrong sound but the rest of the class have to say try again.(teacher write the marks on the blackboard)
Sixth - Repeat the activity until the fifth pupil in the group
Seventh - Teacher total the marks and praise the pupils who win.
Eighth - Practise- pupils have to draw the pictures(pen,bell,cup and sun) in their exercise book.
Ninth - Teacher praise the pupils that had finished their work like they are good, i love you,or show their work to their friends or let them become a TEACHER and teach their friends...TRY THIS..they love to be a teacher....

Reply
Adam Freeman
11/6/2012 05:51:02 pm

Thank you for specifically outlining how you have completed this activity in class. Is there anyone out there that has utilised this activity? Curious to see what learning outcomes you have seen among the pupils.

Reply
fariza akmar
26/6/2012 06:27:51 pm

Sounds interesting but please tell me what kinds of ball are you using? Is it a paper ball or a rubber ball? How did you manage to control the pupils?

Reply
sksl
23/5/2012 06:22:44 pm

my year 2 pupils love to play the numbers game to guest the words...
eg. : 18 , 5 , 1 , 4 , 9 , 14 , 7 ...:....READING
who can guest it first with the right spelling is the winner and you can give her/him small token....

Reply
noi azizah sk air baruk
23/5/2012 06:23:09 pm

i really agreed with some of the comments that our pupils have enjoyed the activites and they can't wait for the next view. I always try to create my own game or sometimes make use the given one. This morning I put my students in group and let them study the method of making the milk shakes. there are 7 steps they have to read.. then I'll choose one of them represent of their group to read back those who can read faster than the other group will be the winner. don't think it is easy because, before they read the sentence, they have to do some mathematic activty. example if i want them to read no 6 i will say " the number that i want you to read is 3 plus 3, wow, its really make them open their eyes .

Reply
Hery
13/6/2012 06:02:29 pm

with all the comments and suggestions I've read, seems that everybody love this programme and the benefits of it...just hoping that pupils really got the impact and the move to be better in their second language... dream to see and experience the situations where two pupils make a conversation in English. Owh... what a beautiful dream...

Reply
Adam Freeman
21/6/2012 12:36:02 pm

Through creating meaningful activities that are fun and engaging for classroom interaction, that dream can become a reality.

Keep up the hard work!

Reply
AIR BARUK
13/6/2012 06:12:40 pm

I found that my students like to learn English now .After I had shared some tecniques with other teachers that i had learn from the TPD section.

Reply
Ain SKBS
20/6/2012 05:06:38 pm

Just want to share some of your experience on how to teach year 1 students to read a simple sentences. Sometimes i create my own sentences using words that had been taught and repeated. But only 2 or 3 students can read. Even though they know how to spell but when we combined 4 or words together they kind of confused. I also like to know ur teaching strategy in writing skills for year 1 students.

Reply
Ain SKBS
20/6/2012 05:06:38 pm

Just want to share some of your experience on how to teach year 1 students to read a simple sentences. Sometimes i create my own sentences using words that had been taught and repeated. But only 2 or 3 students can read. Even though they know how to spell but when we combined 4 or words together they kind of confused. I also like to know ur teaching strategy in writing skills for year 1 students.

Reply
Hery
20/6/2012 05:12:20 pm

I've created my own language games for the Year 5 pupils.. it is a bit like jeopardy, but only the categories are implied, I gave them the categories (food, occupations, etc) and they need to list it out in groups (3 or 4 groups) on the board. Each and every group must give the words (5 to 7 words) and MOST importantly, the words must NOT been repeated, with the correct spelling they get marks and will accumulated during the game. It is fun and they love it and NOW, they really try their best to spell correctly every time.

Reply
Adam Freeman
21/6/2012 01:17:20 pm

I am so pleased to see that you are really taking the activities on board and allowing your creativity to blossom in approaching lesson planning. Perhaps you would be willing to share this activity and how you have made it 'suitable' for your classroom in TPD?

Reply
Hery
20/6/2012 05:24:18 pm

Last TPD session we have learn correct fingering in using the typing pad. It is really useful and I am surprised how fast I can type the words and sentences. This is what I need and I believe all teacher need to prepare themselves by using the correct technique. Its really help us a lot. Thanks and credit goes to our mentors, thumbs up guys...

Reply
Adam Freeman
21/6/2012 01:27:06 pm

Hery, the real credit goes to teachers like you who are actively making the effort to improve your skills and teaching strategies. The Mentors can only provide options, advice and assistance. It is up to you to determine the best course of action for your own improvement. I am glad to hear that the typing activity is useful to you, and I applaud your personal goal of typing 60 (50 maybe? A little more reasonable.) words per minute by the end of the Penutur Jati programme. I wish such motivation were infectious...

Reply
mariahska
25/6/2012 12:00:06 pm

My yr 2 pupils really enjoyed the jazz chant that i did with them. Doing it by group competition makes the class active n lively.

Reply
fariza akmar
26/6/2012 06:02:40 pm

Thanks for sharing the interesting 'Behaviour Chart' web. I will use the chart next year for sure.

Reply
de Lah
26/6/2012 06:16:21 pm

scratagories
good idea we can do during our busy time. List down 5-7 catagories on the whiteboard.Give the pupils a blank paper.Let the pupil find out so many word from the letter that u give.Example "B" for book , boat , ect.let them count how many words that the pupils get.who many word will win....

Reply
de Lah
26/6/2012 06:26:25 pm

THIS IS WHAT I FOUND IN THE RECOURSES:(TYR IT ! )
Mary writes: "I use two sets of see-through plastic hanging shoe pockets which are really cheap, and hang from hooks on the wall. Each of the 24 pockets holds a letter flashcard, the last 2 pockets have to double up if you want to use the whole alphabet.

The children are given a small object, maybe a wooden animal, a pen, a glue stick, a bead, a small world toy such as a table or bed. They sit in a circle, then take turns to tellme what their object is, what sound it begins (or ends) with, then they place it in the correct pocket. The other children confirm that it is the correct pocket.
You can target individual children with particular sounds, ask the more able to use the final sound, and generally adjust the game to fit. It can take about 20 minutes for a whole class, but it is a good activity for a small group with another adult, or for the children to attempt independently."

Reply
17/7/2012 08:05:37 pm

There couple of fascinating points at some point in this posting but I don�t determine if these men and women center to heart. There is some validity but Let me take hold opinion until I check into it further. Excellent write-up , thanks and then we want more! Combined with FeedBurner in addition

Reply
teacher
10/10/2012 06:19:38 pm

thanks to robert for today's activity

Reply
Abang Hery
10/10/2012 06:23:44 pm

Yeah, it is fun and useful in my classroom. More resources and ideas to make the class active and healthy

Reply
Abang Hery
10/10/2012 06:21:02 pm

I've been in this programme for two years now. It is really a turning point for me and my method of teaching is better than ever. Hope fully I manage to see the progression and the end product of the works I've been done.

Reply
1/4/2013 02:39:48 am

Thank you, I have recently been searching for info about this subject for ages and yours is the greatest I've found out so far. However, what about the bottom line? Are you sure about the source?

Reply
Adam Freeman
24/7/2013 03:35:00 pm

Poker Stars:

I am pleased that you have found challengeaccepted2013.weebly.com useful. I am not certain what your definition of 'bottom line' or 'source' may be, so I am uncertain of how to answer the question. Can you please define those terms a bit more to help me better answer your question? Many thanks. Hoping you continue to find challengeaccepted2013.weebly.com helpful in your practice.

Reply



Leave a Reply.